Chin up: How to increase your chin up reps?

Alright, first of all, Chin-ups and pull-ups are two different things. But hell, both are killers you know. I used to be a zero fighter, which meant my chin-ups count was a mere zero – I couldn’t lift up my 72kg body up the bar when I first enlisted. (By the way, I wen through the PTP phase, which means I wasn’t fit for NS when I enlisted.)

So what’s a chin-up?

So this is Chin-up. Chin-up mainly uses biceps strength and your pectoral muscle and Trapezius as well. Chin-up uses supinated grip or the more widely known as under hand grip.Chin-up mainly builds width and thickness of one’s back, upper shoulder and biceps.

So what’s a Pull-up?

As you can see, Pull-up uses upper hand grip, pronated grip. Pull-up mainly use the strength of your back, Latissimus dorsi muscle.

So Chin-up or Pull-up? Well it goes down to individual’s preference. I personally prefer Chin-up and I can do more reps with Chin-ups as compared to Pull-ups.

Here are your goals

  • 6 reps to IPPT pass
  • 8 reps to get IPPT silver
  • 11 reps and above to get IPPT Gold

So you have to test your body which style offer you more reps. I have stronger biceps compared to back muscles so I can hit 12-14 reps with chin-up style when I can do 8 reps for max with pull-up technique.

I will write some technique and exercises you can do to achieve better result in next post. For now, grab the bar pull your body up.

Leave a comment